East Asia and Pacific

East Asia and Pacific (EAP) contains a significant share of the world’s population (27%) and the world’s poor (24%). It includes twenty five countries, and three major sub-regions with significant heterogeneity (China, the Pacific, and East Asia). Read More »

Eastern Europe and Central Asia

The region of Eastern Europe and Central Asia (ECA) consists of 23 countries with the total population of about 367 million people, of whom 19.6 percent live below the national poverty line. Read More »

Latin America and Caribbean

The Latin America and the Caribbean region comprises 41 countries that range from small island nations to large economies such as Brazil and Mexico, with a wide diversity in income levels and financial sector development. Read More »

Middle East and North Africa

Middle East and North Africa (MENA) comprises a small share of the world’s population (5%) and is characterized by its youth (50% or 88 million people aged 15 to 24), who show the highest unemployment rate worldwide (24%), in a context of change that led to a slowdown in economic growth (3%). Read More »

South Asia

The eight countries in South Asia reflect a highly diverse landscape for financial inclusion each with a unique modern history of financial systems development. It is also a region undergoing significant changes and in some cases turbulence. Read More »

Sub-Saharan Africa

Sub-Saharan Africa comprises 48 countries and 47% of the people live on less than $1.25 a day (UN 2012). Although recent World Bank estimates confirm a positive declining trend in poverty this is still the highest in the world. Read More »